Ask an Evaluator

evaluation
resources
evaluation-café

(Gillian Kerr) #1

Hello, all - Stacey McDonald invited me to post some evaluation resources on this forum and be informally available for questions from the OTF community. I’m a member of the Toronto-based Evaluation Café, which is sponsored by the Canadian Evaluation Society, and I’ve been doing evaluations for about 30 years in Canada and elsewhere. I’m an organizational psychologist, on the Board of a Canadian nonprofit (LogicalOutcomes) that develops open source evaluation tools, was a VP of United Way of Greater Toronto in the 1990s, and have done a lot of policy work for Citizenship and Immigration Canada (now IRCC) and other funders.

So feel free to ask questions and I’ll try to steer you toward useful resources. I’ve also invited other members of the Evaluation Café to join us, and they may pitch in. And by the way, you’re welcome to join us at Café meetings - we get together every couple of months, usually at a downtown Toronto pub. See https://www.meetup.com/Evaluation-Cafe-Toronto/,

To start with, here is some key evaluation material:

• BetterEvaluation.org is a great collection of techniques, templates and methodologies. My project teams often refer to it when we’re planning an evaluation design or writing a proposal.

• Another great resource is the Community Tool Box from the University of Kansas. The Tool Box covers a full range of skills for community action (see the Table of Contents), including a chapter on evaluation

Handbooks

There seem to be dozens, if not hundreds, of handbooks on evaluation. They can be useful to get consensus vocabulary and concepts (evaluators tend to argue endlessly on the definitions of concepts like ‘impact’ or ‘logic model’, and it helps to decide on a shared glossary). However, they are heavy reading for most nonprofits.

Here are a few I like: